New Center of Excellence!!!

The Hylleraas Center will make a decisive, timely contribution to chemistry by developing multiscale methods for complex systems, emphasising matter-field interactions

With great joy, and quite some relief, the next Center of Excellence is now a reality.

Yesterday, the Norwegian Research Council announced the Hylleraas Centre for Quantum Molecular Science among the ten new centers, with a grant of 158 million NOK over the next ten years. As for CTCC, the next center will be shared equally between Oslo and Tromsø. The first five years Trygve Helgaker will constitute the center leader from Oslo, followed by five years with Kenneth Ruud as the center leader from Tromsø.

The new center will bring quantum chemistry into exciting, new and unchartered territories, by developing computational methods to handle millions of atoms, and novel approaches to understand and control complex biological and chemical systems under extreme environments. 

We congratulate the center leader Trygve Helgaker, the six principal scientists Bjørn Olav Brandsdal, Michele Cascella, Odile Eisenstein, Kathrin HopmannThomas Bondo Pedersen and Kenneth Ruud, and the rest of the team on the new center!

Related news links: titan, UiO, UiT



Published Mar. 16, 2017 12:09 PM - Last modified Mar. 16, 2017 12:09 PM